health · household · hygge · lifestyle · mind and body · spiritual

Secret Shifters: Improve your mood.

So I suffer from anxiety. I guess it would be General Anxiety Disorder. I am fortunate that I don’t have panic attacks. Occasionally my anxiety gets so bad it affects my behaviour and I act in an irrational way. When this happens, I use some “secret shifters” to improve my mood. When I read the book “The Secret“, the author talked about using tricks and activities to shift your mood. Here are some of the things I do to help my anxiety and make me feel happier and more productive.

IMG_20170206_165254_828
Always a good decision!

Making a smoothie is always good because I feel like I am getting lots of fruit, it’s healthy and I don’t make poor food choices by panicking about getting food quickly. I like blueberries, grapes and strawberries mixed with ice.

IMG_20170206_165159_927
A not so healthy option!

I look at my photo albums or read messages from my friends in my Bridal Shower guest book. This is particularly useful as when I don’t hear from my friends in a while anxiety creeps in. Reading their messages or letters reminds me that they are busy living their lives but are there if I need them.

Listening to Romanian pop always lifts my mood, because of the peppy tempo, but also because it reminds me of a time when I was extremely happy. I have a lot of good memories of Romania, and made a lot of good buddies there.

 

Lighting candles and indulging in a little bit of HYGGE goes a long way. Taking time out to relax or meditate, helps me rationalise my thoughts. Something I have struggled with over the years.

IMG_20170304_163844
Lovely Aroma candles from I-Herb.

Calling my mum often helps, although depending on her mood, it can also hinder! My sister is the wisest and most collected person I know, so sometimes she is a safer bet. Talking things out with someone detached from the situation makes everything seem much better.

Going for a run or a walk in the morning makes me feel so much better and prepared for the day. I usually run at the weekends and if I skip my run because of weather or sickness, I generally feel a bit miffed. Swimming also helps, and is very relaxing in the hot Hong Kong weather.

IMG_20170430_180042_229
My running spot

Thanks for reading and let me know if you have any “Secret Shifters”.

Leave a Reply

