asia · blog · culture · education · employment · family · father's day · friendships · hong kong · mind and body · relationships · spiritual · travel

Reality of Living Abroad.

I have written a few posts about living abroad. The thing is, the reality is very different to the fantasy.

This week was Father’s Day which got me thinking. If you are very close to your family, as I am, it may be extremely difficult to move away. To be honest there have been times when I ring my mum and cry down the phone like a baby. Yes, honestly. Even though I have been living abroad for five years. And I am a married woman.

 

You need to be tough to have this kind of international lifestyle. People may not understand you or may not want to. Hong Kong in particular is a transient place, and people move all the time. Some of my good friends have come and gone. People I am close to are leaving in the next two months which will be difficult.

 

Although I am married, I know it is hard to meet people when living abroad. You may feel reluctant to meet someone, as you know you will be moving back soon. If you do commit, you have to work out the complexities of an international relationship, which is never easy. If you’re thinking about marriage, you have the joys and trials of planning an international wedding.

So, as much as I am an advocate of moving abroad and gaining international experience in the global job market, think carefully. When you return home (or if you do) your relationships with your family and friends will change. You will become a completely different person. You may miss important events, such as weddings, birthdays, christenings etc. So think wisely my friend.

If you are living abroad and struggling (everyone has a wobble now and again), keep on going, because you are living an amazing life!

Let me know your thoughts on moving abroad. If you’re currently living in Hong Kong, I would love to hear from you.

 

Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “Reality of Living Abroad.

  1. When we lived in Amsterdam, it was hard to get connected to people but it takes courage and effort to get out of the shell. It does not have to be fellow expats although it helps to network with some to learn more about their trials and tribulations while living in a foreign country!

    Like

Leave a Reply

