asia · blog · business · education · employment · lifestyle · review

Book Review: The Million Dollar Blog.

Hubby bought me this book as a half-joke and to encourage me to write more amusing blog posts for him to laugh at. The book is called “The Million Dollar Blog” by Natasha Courtenay Smith.

At the moment, Hubby is my biggest supporter and usually the sole source of traffic on my blog. If you are reading this, and are not my husband, thank you for your support!

I am not going to give you a deep in depth analysis, chapter by chapter of the book. I will say this. It will motivate you. The author, Natasha Courtenay-Smith, journalist, entrepreneur and blogger is clearly a hard working, intelligent and savvy business woman. I know I will not be making a Million Dollar Blog any time soon. However, the author states, that the best time to start a blog is NOW.

Since reading it, I have scheduled five blog posts, cleaned out my instagram feed, gained followers, taken blog photos and updated my pinterest. Before, I had lost all motivation because I wasn’t getting any instant gratification. The author says not to think about the blog’s progress for at least twelve months. There you go. I can just leave it there!

I have been writing this blog for six months but have been thinking about starting one for over a year. I started doing Youtube around a year and a half ago, but decided it wasn’t for me. I made a few videos about my travels but my editing is not up to much so I am focusing on my writing. I wanted to document going to university abroad but I was always to scared I wouldn’t be good enough. How silly I was!

The book explains that blogging is a fast growing industry and offers explanations on how to use social media to make your business grow. It also explains which platforms are suitable for promoting your blog, depending on if you run a personal or business blogs. The book reveals how bloggers can monetise their blog once they become successful, and how bloggers are ranked by search engines.

If you are new to blogging, or thinking that you should start but have a lack of motivation, this book is for you. This book helped me to clearly think about my audience (My hubby), my content (usually Hong Kong) and my goals (attain a larger audience and failing that, make my husband laugh).

The book features interviews with some well known bloggers. One of which was Lily Pebbles, who I found through Youtube, I didn’t even know she had a blog. Although she is quite well-known in the UK. I have watched some of her videos prior to reading about her.

Overall I liked the book, it was a fairly easy read, and demystified some of the tech jargon that I have trouble decoding when Hubby and I watch Silicon Valley.

 

To my extremely large audience and army of followers, I say, thanks for reading!

 

You can read a chapter of the book for free here:   http://natashacourtenaysmith.com/

Leave a Reply

