asia · celebrate · culture · friendships · hong kong · relationships

Dinner, Drinks, Dancing

This week I acted my age and went for drinks and a party. I beat my social anxiety yet again and had cocktails at Cicada (on Elgin Street). I was with a good friend and two of her colleagues, they were nice people and we had lovely chats. The drinks were delicious, I had the Japanese Slipper. I can’t drink as much as I used to, which is probably a good thing as there was a bit of a Gweilo tax on the cocktails. The atmosphere was great, and more private than a lot of the bars and restaurants in Soho which are a lot more open. I loved the decor and lighting, perfect for intimate conversation. We ate the green papaya salad and the spicy potato wedges. Delicious!

 

At 10pm we left Cicada and headed to a party, “Latino night” on Queen’s Road Central. It was in a very well located, if not small flat. The people there were all European, some students from Hong Kong University, some business colleagues of my friend, and what I suspect were several models. I chatted with a few lovely people. The music was a lovely mix of Latino and German (a strange yet successful combination). Air kisses were made and I made my way home at the Cinderella hour. Husband enjoyed hearing my adventures as he had enjoyed his Saturday night like he usually does my playing video games.

 

I enjoyed the night immensely, however, did feel a little out of my depth in conversations about litigation, business and Warwick University. Nonetheless I held my own and beat my introvert instincts to the side, for a few hours at least.

IMG_20170408_183128

Let me know how you enjoy spending your saturday night!

 

Thanks for reading!

 

Here is Cicada on Tripadvisor:

https://en.tripadvisor.com.hk/Restaurant_Review-g294217-d1887107-Reviews-Cicada-Hong_Kong.html

One thought on “Dinner, Drinks, Dancing

  1. Husband enjoyed hearing my adventures as he had enjoyed his Saturday night like he usually does my playing video games. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

